Take a Hike Canada!

Take a Hike Canada  

 And I mean that in the best possible way. Sunday May 6 2012 marks the 10th Anniversary of the National Hike for Hospice Palliative Care. People all across Canada will be lacing up to shuffle, walk, hike or run for the cause. Here in my little community we will be hosting our very first walk and we are off to a flying start in terms of fundraising.

End of hike motivation tray

I’m lacing up with a group of other ladies from my cookbook club and we have christened our team The Sweet and Savory Tarts …. yeah, I’ll leave that to your imagination. We hope to shuffle our way thru the 5km walk (no volunteers for running the 10km on our team)

So with a view to making this fun and comfortable on my feet I felt new walking shoes were in order. Gads, clearly it has been sometime since I purchased running shoes as I walked into the store to be met with a wall …yes, a whole wall of shoes (some in rather startling colours and configurations I might add). What ever happened to Keds, PF Flyers? I know I’m challenged technologically but I also appear shopping challenged when it comes to shoes.

My shoe angel appeared in the form of Ryan a friendly and effervescent young man. He assured me he had successfully passed all the requisite shoe fitting courses and would be able to walk me thru (his pun not mine) selecting the right shoe for my foot and purpose. He also conducted the big toe – end of shoe check with extreme professionalism. A pair was found and paid for and I was on my way.

Okay, so now I have the shoes…what next?   Best to wear in the shoes a bit I thought so I tried them on and started to walk around the kitchen. I glanced down at my feet and I was astounded with how awesome my new shoes looked. All clean and white and sparkly purple and silver – I felt rather like a superhero in these shoes. Not knowing any real superheroes to double check with I was quite certain their shoes would sparkle and gleam like this. Surely this was a good sign.

Fit for a superhero

Next logical step seemed to be to get out there and walk. Please understand I am on my feet all day and I’m sure I put in 5km easily each day walking the dog three times a day, going to and from the barn, working in the garden, chores etc. However, I wish I had captured the look on my husband’s face as I announced I was going to go for a practice walk (I thought a good 5km around the block was in order).

“A practice walk he said? You’re an eyelash away from 60 and you’ve been walking since you are 11 months old…you need to practice walking?”. I was dumbfounded for a response which doesn’t happen often so I left and went walking…practice walking.

My shoes are breaking in nicely, muscles seem to be well limbered and sponsorship is going along nicely, now I just wait for the big day next Sunday. Should be a day filled with laughter, friendship and pride for our community, knowing we are doing a good thing.

So watch for me if you are in the area…I’ll be the one walking in those superhero shoes.

 You can help support me by making a secure online donation using your credit card. Click on the link below: http://my.e2rm.com/personalPage.aspx?SID=3313999&langPref=en-CA

Want to know more about a hike in your area of Canada, check out this link

http://www.chpca.net/hfhpc

2 thoughts on “Take a Hike Canada!

  1. Susan says:

    Love the baby picture. I remember the old wooden prisons for baby’s they called playpens. I laughed (and perfectly understood) the idea of a practice walk. Have a great time on Sunday and sing some rocking songs as you go!

  2. Quiet Storytellers says:

    Thanks for the laugh! I, too, will be going for a walk today–but instead of superhero shoes I am going for the Greek god look and wearing sandals. :o)

Leave a Reply

